ARTnews

Sharjah Biennial Names Over 150 Artists for Long-Awaited Okwui Enwezor-Conceived 2023 Edition

BY MAXIMILÍANO DURÓN April 18, 2022



Sharjah. PHOTO: ALI OMRAN/COURTESY SHARJAH ART FOUNDATION

The Sharjah Art Foundation has named over 150 artists hailing from more than 70 countries that will participate in its highly anticipated 2023 **Sharjah Biennial** which was conceived by the late curator **Okwui Enwezor**_ and curated by the organization's director Hoor Al Qasimi.

The exhibition, titled "Thinking Historically in the Present," will run from February 7–June 11, 2023 at some 16 venues across Sharjah, including "a vegetable market, power station, and former kindergarten," according to a press release.

Almost a year ago, the Sharjah Biennial announced that it would delay its 15th edition to 2023, citing "the relentless devastation of COVID-19 in many parts of the world, as well as the uneven access to vaccines and restrictions to travel still in place." The exhibition had already been postponed a year from 2021 to 2022 when this announcement was made.

To mark its 30th anniversary, the biennial previously announced that it had commissioned 30 artists, per Enwezor's original vision, to create new work for the exhibition, including John Akomfrah, María Magdalena Campos-Pons, Carolina Caycedo, Coco Fusco, Mona Hatoum, Lubaina Himid, Isaac Julien, Ibrahim Mahama, Kerry James Marshall, Steve McQueen, Wangechi Mutu, Philippe Parreno, Doris Salcedo, Yinka Shonibare, Nari Ward, and Carrie Mae Weems.

Outside these well-known names, the extensive artist list is largely devoid of international artists who regularly appear on the biennial circuit.

Among the closely watched artists slated to take part in the biennial are Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Farah Al Qasimi, Brook Andrew, Diedrick Brackens, Cao Fei, Theaster Gates, David Hammons, Emily Kame Kngwarreye, Joiri Minaya, Tracey Moffat, Okwui Okpokwasili, Umar Rashid, Wendy Red Star, Veronica Ryan, and Mary Sibande.

In a statement, Al Qasimi said, "Okwui saw Sharjah Biennial's 30-year anniversary as an opportunity to reflect on the role that biennials serve in the ecosystem of contemporary art, particularly the Sharjah Biennial itself and the broader Foundation that grew from it. With gratitude to Okwui and the ambitious intellectual project he conceived, we are organising a Biennial that builds on and honours his vision to probe the past, present, and future role that biennials and institutions, including the Sharjah Biennial and the Foundation can serve."

The current artist list, which is still in formation, follows below.

Carolina Caycedo Mona Hatoum Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Ali Cherri Lubaina Himid Rahme Wook-kyung Choi Laura Huertas Millán Maitha Abdalla Iftikhar Dadi and Elizabeth Dadi Saodat Ismailova Fathi Afifi Solmaz Daryani Isaac Julien Hoda Afshar Annalee Davis Saddam Jumaily John Akomfrah **Destiny Deacon** Robyn Kahukiwa Jawad Al Malhi Manthia Diawara Reena Saini Kallat Monira Al Qadiri Imane Djamil Hanni Kamaly Farah Al Qasimi Anju Dodiya Amar Kanwar Mounira Al Solh Kimathi Donkor Bouchra Khalili Moza Almatrooshi Heri Dono Naiza Khan Marwah AlMugait Tania El Khoury Kiluanji Kia Henda

Hangama Amiri Tania El Khoury Kiluanji Kia Hend Brook Andrew Nabil El Makhloufi Ayoung Kim

Malala Andrialavidrazana Rehab Eldalil Emily Kame Kngwarreye

Ali Eyal Hiroji Kubota Rushdi Anwar Brenda Fajardo Nusra Latif Qureshi Kader Attia Raheleh Filsoofi Lee Kai Chung Au Sow Yee Nina Fischer and Maroan el Sani Ibrahim Mahama Dana Awartani Coco Fusco Waheeda Malullah Omar Badsha Flavia Gandolfo Maharani Mancanagara Natalie Ball

Sammy Baloji Theaster Gates mandla

Mirna Bamieh Gabriela Golder Lavanya Mani
Pablo Bartholomew and Richard Gabrielle Goliath Kerry James Marshall

Yulia Grigoryants Queenie McKenzie Bartholomew Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Steve McQueen Shiraz Bayjoo Joreige Marisol Mendez Bahar Behbahani Hassan Hajjaj Almagul Menlibayeva Asma Belhamar **David Hammons** Helina Metaferia **Diedrick Brackens** Archana Hande Kimowan Metchewais

Maria Magdalena Campos-Pons Archana Hande Kimowan Metchew Cao Fei Fathi Hassan Meleanna Meyer Joiri Minaya Abdulrahim Salem Tahila Mintz Sangeeta Sandrasegar

Roméo Mivekannin Varunika Saraf **Tracey Moffat** Khadija Saye Aline Motta Berni Searle Wangechi Mutu Mithu Sen Eubena Nampitjin Nelly Sethna Dala Nasser Aziza Shadenova Pipo Nguyen-Duy Smita Sharma Mame-Diarra Niang Nilima Sheikh Shelley Niro Yinka Shonibare Thenjiwe Niki Nkosi Felix Shumba Semsar Siahaan Elia Nurvista Okwui Okpokwasili Mary Sibande

Kambui Olujimi Kahurangiariki Smith

Zohra Opoku Inuuteq Storch Erkan Özgen Vivan Sundaram

Pak Khawateen Painting Club Pamela Phatsimo Sunstrum

Pushpakanthan Pakkiyarajah Obaid Suroor

Hyesoo Park The Living and the Dead Ensemble

Philippe Parreno Hank Willis Thomas
Angela Ponce Akeim Toussaint Buck
Prajakta Potnis Fatimah Tuggar

Anita Pouchard Serra
Anita Pouchard Serra
Hajra Waheed
Jasbir Puar and Dima Srouji
Barbara Walker
Michael Rakowitz
Wang Jianwei
Umar Rashid
Nari Ward

Wendy Red Star Carrie Mae Weems

Veronica Ryan Nil Yalter

Doris Salcedo