Luis Camnitzer: Villa Vassilieff
February 13 – July 2, 2016
Image: Write the biography of an idea, 2011

Luis Camnitzer included in the group exhibition Groupe Mobile, curated by Mélanie Bouteloup and Virginie Bobin at Villa Vassilieff, Paris.

Villa Vassilieff will open its doors with an exhi­bi­tion enti­tled Groupe Mobile, gath­ering some sixty inter­na­tional artists and researchers.

Villa Vassilieff, a cul­tural estab­lish­ment owned by the City of Paris, is located in the heart of Montparnasse, on the site of Marie Vassilieff’s former studio, which until 2013 housed the Musée du Montparnasse. It is run by Bétonsalon — Center for art and research, which is thus opening its second site of activ­i­ties. Villa Vassilieff is con­­ceived as a place for working and living.

Today, Villa Vassilieff intends to recon­nect with this his­tory by inviting artists and researchers to look at past and pre­sent resources of Montparnasse from a con­tem­po­rary per­spec­tive. Through exhi­bi­tions, sem­i­nars, work­shops, pro­jec­tions and encoun­ters of all kinds, the Villa strives to shake up art’s place in society in par­tic­ular by ques­tioning the role and uses of her­itage.

Artists included in the exhibition: Agam, Andrea Ancira (Pernod Ricard Fellow), Ellie Armon Azoulay, Kemi Bassene, Yogesh Barve, Kim Beom, Jean Bhownagary, Judy Blum Reddy, Constantin Brancusi, Laurent Brégeat, Alexander Calder, Luis Camnitzer, CAMP, Esther Carp, Clark House Initiative, Camille Chenais, Justin Daraniyagala, Jochen Dehn, Cristiana de Marchi, Max Ernst, Mitra Farahani, Joanna Fiduccia, Alberto Giacometti, Alberto Greco, Zarina Hashmi, Iris Haüssler, MF Hussain, Sonia Khurana, J.D. Kirszenbaum, Naresh Kumar, Emmanuelle Lainé, Laura Lamiel, Life After Life, Nalini Malani, V.V. Malvankar, Ernest Mancoba, Julie Martin & Billy Klüver, Tyeb Mehta, Adrián Melis, Marta Minujín, Tsuyoshi Ozawa, Prabhakar Pachpute, Akbar Padamsee, Amol K Patil, Rupali Patil, Pablo Picasso, Edward Quinn, Nikhil Raunak, Man Ray, Krishna Reddy, Edward Ruscha, Suki Seokyeong Kang, Sumesh Sharma, Amrita Sher-Gil, Shunya, Francis Newton Souza, Pisurwo Jitendra Suralkar, Sharmeen Syed, Jiří Trnka, Marc Vaux, Marie Vassilieff, Susan Vogel, Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa and many others.